Saturday, May 21

An Arab country that has become the last shelter of thousands of Russian people!!!

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Galli Monastyreva tells about an Arab country that has become the last shelter of thousands of Russian people
Our colleague, almost from the beginning of the activity of the RUSSAR Foundation, Galli Monastyreva, published in the well-known and popular in Russia “Novel-magazine XXI century” author’s materials from the Atlas of the Russian Abroad for travelers and the curious. Galli Germanovna is the author-compiler of the Atlas created to popularize the outstanding historical and spiritual heritage brought by Russian civilization in foreign countries. In issue 6 of the novel magazine for 2021, there is, in particular, an article by Galli Monastyreva “Russian Carthage”. This metaphor refers to the Arab Mediterranean country of Tunisia, on the territory of which ancient Carthage was once located.

In 1920, 37 ships of the Russian squadron with crews and their family members arrived in the Tunisian port of Bizerte from Sevastopol. They preferred a foreign land to the service of the new Bolshevik government in Russia. Admirals, officers and sailors and their relatives hoped that this foreign land was temporary, but history ordered otherwise. The commander of one of the ships of the squadron — the submarine “Duck” was Captain 2nd rank Nestor Monastyrev. Our Gally is his great-niece. As Galli narrates in his article, now former officers began to look for work. They were in demand as surveyors, topographers and builders. They created modern roads and water supply in Tunisia. Not everyone is lucky enough to find a job to feed themselves and their family in their specialty. Russian russians, despite the hardships of emigrant life, managed in 1938 to erect an Orthodox church in Bizerte in honor of the Holy Blessed Grand Duke Alexander Nevsky, and in 1953 the Russian Orthodox community received from the benevolent Tunisian authorities the right to build a church of the Resurrection of Christ in the capital of the country, Tunis, which was completed in 1956. Funds for the construction came from Russian emigrants.

Some of the Russian people gradually moved to France. But many of our compatriots stayed in Tunisia, got closer to the local population and found eternal rest in the cemeteries of Tunis, Bizerte and other Tunisian cities. When the current president of the RUSSAR Foundation Oleg Fomin arrived in Tunisia in 1994 as director of the Russian Center for Science and Culture and adviser to the Russian Embassy, he found only one representative of the Russian world in the country before the October Revolution of 1917. It was Anastasia Alexandrovna Manstein-Shirinskaya. Since 1920, she lived in Bizerte, where she worked as a mathematics teacher at a Tunisian school, earning the high respect of the entire urban population. Evidence of this is the decision of the municipality of Bizerta to rename one of the central squares of the city, where the Alexander Nevsky Temple is located, and to name it after Anastasia Shirinskaya. The decision was timed to coincide with her 95th birthday.

Oleg Fomin participated in 1999 in the ceremony of awarding Anastasia Shirinskaya a Russian passport and obtaining her Russian citizenship. He also contributed to the publication of her book Bizerte. The last stop” in the Russian “Military Unit” and her first trip to her homeland. Another participant of the RUSSAR Foundation, the well-known journalist Nikolai Sologubovsky, is the author of a number of publications about Manstein-Shirinskaya and the International Award-winning documentary film Anastasia. Galli Monastyreva often returns to the topic of the life of her glorious ancestor and the heroine of the movie, with whom she has repeatedly met. In December 2009, Anastasia Alexandrovna died at the age of 97 and was buried on Tunisian soil next to her father’s grave. Another outstanding Russian woman, Elvira Vladimirovna Gudova, who took care of A.A. Shirinskaya in her last years, the founder of the Anastasia Alexandrovna Manstein-Shirinskaya Foundation for the Preservation of Historical and Cultural Heritage, made a decisive contribution to the creation of the Anastasia Alexandrovna Museum in Bizert.

The graves of our compatriots are being cared for together with the Tunisian authorities by organizations of former Soviet and Russian citizens — the spouses of Tunisians who have received higher education in our country. Russian graves in a friendly Arab country are currently being cared for by a local branch of the IPPO in Tunisia, one of the tasks of which will be to take care of Russian graves in a friendly Arab country.
Photo Sergey Rodionov

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply

Вторник, 17 мая

Арабская страна, ставшая последним приютом тысяч русских людей!!!

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Галли Монастырева повествует об арабской стране, ставшей последним приютом тысяч русских людей
Наша коллега практически с начала деятельности Фонда «РУССАР» Галли Монастырева опубликовала в известном и популярном в России «Роман-журнале ХХI век» авторские материалы из «Атласа русского зарубежья для путешествующих и любопытствующих». Галли Германовна является автором-составителем Атласа, созданного для популяризации выдающегося исторического и духовного наследия, привнесенного русской цивилизацией в странах зарубежья. В номере 6 роман-журнала за 2021 год помещена, в частности, статья Галли Монастыревой «Русский Карфаген». Под этой метафорой имеется в виду арабская средиземноморская страна Тунис, на территории которого некогда располагался древний Карфаген.

В 1920 году в тунисский порт Бизерта прибыли из Севастополя 37 кораблей Русской эскадры с экипажами и членами их семей. Они предпочли чужбину служению новой большевистской власти в России. Адмиралы, офицеры и матросы и их родственники надеялись, что эта чужбина временная, но история распорядилась иначе. Командиром одного из кораблей эскадры — подводной лодки «Утка» был капитан 2-го ранга Нестор Монастырев. Наша Галли — его внучатая племянница. Как повествует в своей статье Галли, теперь уже бывшие офицеры стали искать работу. Они оказались востребованы как геодезисты, топографы и строители. Они создавали в Тунисе современные дороги и водопровод. Далеко не всем повезло найти работу, чтобы прокормить себя и семью, по своей специальности. Несмотря на лишения эмигрантской жизни русским людям удалось в 1938 году возвести в Бизерте православный храм в честь святого благоверного Великого князя Александра Невского, а в 1953 году русская православная община получила от благожелательных тунисских властей право на строительство в столице страны, городе Тунисе храма Воскресения Христова, которое было завершено в 1956 году. Средства на строительство поступали от русских эмигрантов.

Часть русских людей постепенно переехала во Францию. Но немало наших соотечественников остались в Тунисе, сблизились с местным населением и обрели вечный покой на кладбищах Туниса, Бизерты и других тунисских городов. Когда нынешний президент Фонда «РУССАР» Олег Фомин прибыл в 1994 году в Тунис в качестве директора Российского центра науки и культуры и советника Посольства России, он застал в стране лишь одну представительницу русского мира до Октябрьской революции 1917 года. Это была Анастасия Александровна Манштейн-Ширинская. С 1920 года она проживала в Бизерте, где работала преподавателем математики в тунисской школе, снискав высокое уважение всего городского населения. Свидетельство тому — решение муниципалитета Бизерты переименовать одну из центральных площадей города, на которой находится Храм Александра Невского, и назвать ее именем Анастасии Ширинской. Решение было приурочено к ее 95-летию.

Олег Фомин участвовал в 1999 году в церемонии вручения Анастасии Ширинской российского паспорта и получения ею гражданства России. Он же способствовал изданию ее книги «Бизерта». Последняя стоянка» в российском «Воениздате» и ее первой поездке на Родину. Еще один участник Фонда «РУССАР», известный журналист Николай Сологубовский — автор ряда публикаций о Манштейн-Ширинской и получившего Международную премию документального кинофильма «Анастасия». Галли Монастырева часто возвращается к теме жизни своего славного предка и героини кинофильма, с которой неоднократно встречалась. В декабре 2009 года Анастасия Александровна скончалась в возрасте 97 лет и похоронена на тунисской земле рядом с могилой отца. Еще одна выдающаяся русская женщина, Эльвира Владимировна Гудова, опекавшая А.А. Ширинскую в ее последние годы, создатель Фонда сохранения исторического и культурного наследия имени Анастасии Александровны Манштейн-Ширинской, внесла решающий вклад в создание музея Анастасии Александровны в Бизерте.

За могилами наших соотечественников ухаживают вместе с тунисскими властями организации бывших советских и российских гражданок — супруг тунисцев, получивших высшее образование в нашей стране. В настоящее время в Тунисе создается местное отделение ИППО, одной из задач которого будет уход за русскими могилами в дружественной арабской стране.
Фото Сергей Родионов

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply