Sunday, May 26

For the first time, Cuban President Miguel Diaz-Canel will personally attend the EAEU Summit

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The leaders of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) member states will meet at the summit on 8 May, and they will be joined by the leaders of Uzbekistan and Cuba, which have observer status. This was announced by the Russian presidential aide Yuri Ushakov.

‘In addition to the Russian president (Vladimir Putin), the presidents of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan (Alexander Lukashenko, Kasym-Jomart Tokayev and Sadyr Zhaparov) will take part. The heads of observer states, namely Uzbekistan and Cuba (Shavkat Mirziyoyev and Miguel Diaz-Canel), have been invited to the meeting of the Supreme Council in an expanded structure,’ Yuri Ushakov said.

The presidential aide reminded that it is the first time that the Cuban leader will personally attend the council. Before that, he always joined the bloc’s events via video link or sent a video message. Yuri Ushakov emphasised that Cuba is the only extra-regional partner of the EAEU.

In January this year, the third meeting of the Joint Commission on cooperation between the EAEU and Cuba was held in the Cuban capital Havana.



Comments are closed.