Sunday, May 26
Law

Comment by the official representative of the Russian Foreign Ministry, M.V. Zakharova, in connection with the statements of the US Permanent Representative to the United Nations on the reform of the UN Security Council

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

On April 18, speaking at the National Institute for Political Studies in Tokyo, U.S. Permanent Representative to the United Nations L.Thomas-Greenfield made a number of noteworthy statements. The American raised the issue of the reform of the UN Security Council. According to her, once before, the United States, China and Russia agreed on their unwillingness to see changes in this body. At the same time, in 2021, the Americans allegedly left this group and became supporters of the reform of the UN Security Council and the Organization as a whole, while Russia and China remained its opponents.

The statement by the US representative is outright disinformation. Russia has consistently supported the reform process of the UN Security Council and does not believe that this body should remain unchanged. A scrupulous negotiation process has been underway on this topic since 2009, aimed at developing a compromise solution that will enjoy the widest possible support, ideally by consensus. The Russian side, together with like-minded people, is actively working on this.

Our country has consistently supported and supports the expansion of the UN Security Council at the expense of developing countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America. The Russian Federation, like the vast majority of UN member States, stands in favor of correcting the historical injustice against Africa, whose current representation in the Security Council in no way corresponds to either the total number of States on the continent or their modern role in international affairs. But Western countries, which strictly adhere to the bloc approaches defined in Washington and Brussels, on the contrary, are already significantly overrepresented in the UN Security Council. The increase in their number does not contribute in any way to strengthening the multilateral foundations enshrined in the Charter of the Organization. The activity of the United States in promoting disinformation about the approaches of Russia and China is explained by nothing more than the desire of Western countries to maintain their elusive dominance on the world stage.

We are convinced that such statements by Western capitals will not mislead other participants in the negotiations, primarily from the countries of the Global South, who are well aware of the principled Russian position.

Источник

https://mid.ru/ru/foreign_policy/news/1946939/

Share.

Comments are closed.

Воскресенье, 26 мая

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой в связи с высказываниями Постпреда США при ООН по реформе Совета Безопасности ООН

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

18 апреля, выступая в Национальном институте политических исследований в Токио, постоянный представитель США при ООН Л.Томас-Гринфилд сделала ряд обращающих на себя внимание заявлений. Американка затронула проблематику реформы Совета Безопасности ООН. По ее словам, когда-то прежде США, Китай и Россия сходились в нежелании видеть изменения в данном органе. При этом в 2021 г. американцы якобы вышли из этой группы и стали сторонниками реформы СБ ООН и Организации в целом, тогда как Россия и Китай остались ее противниками.

Заявление представителя США является откровенной дезинформацией. Россия неизменно выступала и выступает в поддержку процесса реформы СБ ООН и не считает, что данный орган должен оставаться в неизменном виде. На эту тему с 2009 г. ведется скрупулезный переговорный процесс, нацеленный на выработку компромиссного решения, которое будет пользоваться максимально широкой поддержкой, в идеале – консенсусом. Российская сторона совместно с единомышленниками активно над этим работает.

Наша страна последовательно поддерживала и поддерживает расширение Совета Безопасности ООН за счет развивающихся стран Азии, Африки и Латинской Америки. Российская Федерация, как и подавляющее большинство государств-членов ООН, выступает в пользу исправления исторической несправедливости в отношении Африки, нынешняя представленность которой в Совете Безопасности никак не соответствует ни общему числу государств континента, ни их современной роли в международных делах. А вот западные страны, строго придерживающиеся блоковых подходов, определяемых в Вашингтоне и Брюсселе, напротив, уже существенно перепредставлены в СБ ООН. Увеличение их числа никак не способствует укреплению многосторонних основ, закрепленных в Уставе Организации. Активность США по продвижению дезинформации о подходах России и Китая объясняется ничем иным, как стремлением западных стран сохранить ускользающее доминирование на мировой арене.

Убеждены, что подобные заявления западных столиц не введут в заблуждение других участников переговоров, прежде всего, из стран Глобального Юга, которые прекрасно знают принципиальную российскую позицию.

Источник

https://mid.ru/ru/foreign_policy/news/1946939/

Share.

Comments are closed.