Tuesday, July 23
Law

Speech by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov during the expanded BRICS session with the participation of Foreign Ministers of the Global South and East, Nizhny Novgorod, June 11, 2024

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Dear colleagues,

Friends,

We are starting our meeting in an expanded format, in the BRICS Plus/BRICS Outreach format.

I am glad to welcome all of you to Russia, in Nizhny Novgorod, in this beautiful city, the beauty of which and the feelings of its inhabitants, you could see yesterday.

Today’s meeting reflects the course of the BRICS members to develop ties with interested countries of the Global South and East, the countries of the World majority in order to find ways to solve the most pressing global problems faced by all members of the international community without exception.

Before our eyes, a profound transformation of international relations is taking place, associated with the formation of a more just, polycentric world order system that would reflect the entire palette of cultural and civilizational diversity of the modern world, ensuring the right of each people to determine their own destiny and their own path of development.

The main trend has been the strengthening of the voice of the World majority – states outside the “collective West”: in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean. Only by rallying our ranks will we be able to really effectively promote the vision of a just future that we all share. In this context, it is important to strengthen the role of interstate associations that advocate balanced, equitable approaches to international development. We are talking about formats in which the principles of equal cooperation are implemented in practice, not in words. Among them, along with the BRICS, are the SCO, the African Union, the EAEU, the CIS, ASEAN, the Arab League, CELAC, the GCC, ARSIO and many other associations. Today, the current chairmen of many of these associations are represented in this Hall.

We consider it important to establish contacts between all such integration structures operating at regional levels on the one hand, and our global BRICS association on the other. This will help to gradually and respectfully harmonize approaches to the issues on the agenda of all associations.

The task of strengthening the international legal framework and collective principles in decision-making on global issues comes to the fore. Only then will these decisions have effectiveness and legitimacy. This is exactly the principle laid down in The Charter The United Nations. But, unfortunately, the decisions taken by the “collective West”, especially in the field of economics, finance, trade and more, increasingly do not comply with the basic principles of the UN Charter.

Our states have largely consonant approaches to the reform of the system of multilateral institutions, including the United Nations and its The Security Council, as well as the issues of post-pandemic recovery of the world economy and the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals approved by the UN General Assembly. We hope that today we will be able to discuss all these issues.

Источник

https://mid.ru/ru/foreign_policy/news/1955917/

Share.

Comments are closed.

Понедельник, 15 июля

Выступление Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова в ходе расширенной сессии БРИКС с участием министров иностранных дел стран Глобального Юга и Востока, Нижний Новгород, 11 июня 2024 года

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Уважаемые коллеги,

Друзья,

Мы начинаем наше заседание в расширенном составе, в формате «БРИКС плюс»/«БРИКС аутрич».

Рад приветствовать всех вас в России, в Нижнем Новгороде, в этом прекрасном городе, в красоте которого и в чувствах его жителей, вы могли вчера убедиться.

Сегодняшняя встреча отражает курс членов БРИКС на развитие связей с заинтересованными странами Глобального Юга и Востока, странами Мирового большинства с целью поиска путей решения наиболее актуальных глобальных проблем, с которыми сталкивается все без исключения члены международного сообщества.

На наших глазах происходит глубинная трансформация международных отношений, связанная с формированием более справедливой, полицентричной системы мироустройства, которая бы отражала всю палитру культурного и цивилизационного многообразия современного мира, обеспечивала право каждого народа самому определять свою судьбу и собственный путь развития.

Магистральной тенденцией стало укрепление голоса Мирового большинства – государств за рамками «коллективного Запада»: в Азии, Африке, на Ближнем Востоке, в Латинской Америке и Карибском бассейне. Лишь сплотив ряды, мы сможем действительно эффективно продвигать общее для всех нас видение справедливого будущего. В этом контексте важно укреплять роль межгосударственных объединений, отстаивающих сбалансированные, равноправные подходы к международному развитию. Речь идет о форматах, в которых на деле, а не на словах реализованы принципы равноправного сотрудничества. Среди них наряду с БРИКС – ШОС, Африканский союз, ЕАЭССНГАСЕАН, ЛАГ, СЕЛАК, ССАГПЗ, АРСИО и многие другие объединения. Сегодня текущие председатели многих из этих объединений представлены в этом зале.

Считаем важным налаживать контакты между всеми подобными интеграционными структурами, действующими на региональных уровнях с одной стороны, и нашим глобальным объединением БРИКС – с другой. Это поможет постепенной и взаимоуважительной гармонизации подходов к проблемам, стоящим на повестке дня всех объединений.

На передний план выходит задача укрепления международно-правовой основы и коллективных начал при принятии решений по глобальным вопросам. Только тогда эти решения будут обладать эффективностью и легитимностью. Именно такой принцип заложен в Уставе Организации Объединенных Наций. Но, к сожалению, решения, принимающиеся «коллективным Западом», особенно в сфере экономики, финансов, торговли и не только, все чаще не соответствуют базовым принципам Устава ООН.

У наших государств во многом созвучны подходы к вопросам реформирования системы многосторонних институтов, включая ООН и ее Совет Безопасности, а также к вопросам постпандемийного восстановления мировой экономики и достижения Целей устойчивого развития, одобренных Генеральной Ассамблеей ООН. Рассчитываем, что сегодня сможем обсудить все эти вопросы.

Источник

https://mid.ru/ru/foreign_policy/news/1955917/

Share.

Comments are closed.